The key to understanding in any relationship lies in identifying your love languages. When you have a clear idea of how both you and your significant other receive love, you can love more effectively. Take a look at the five love languages to determine which one(s) best fit you.

HugThe alt text for this image is the same as the title. In most cases, that means that the alt attribute has been automatically provided from the image file name.

Physical Touch

An article written for states, “To people with this love language, nothing is more impactful than the physical touch of their partner. They aren’t necessarily into over-the-top PDA, but they do feel more connected and safe in a relationship by holding hands, kissing, hugging, etc. If Physical Touch is your partner’s primary love language, they will feel unloved without physical contact. All of the words and gifts in the world won’t change that. They want to feel you close by, not just emotionally, but physically.”


Words of Affirmation

If your love language is words of affirmation, hearing compliments and encouragement means the world to you. It doesn’t have to be anything elaborate. Simple declarations of “I’m proud of you” or “You look beautiful today” will do the trick. Go out of your way to recognize and acknowledge your partner’s hard work. This will help them feel more loved and appreciated.


Receiving Gifts

You might think this love language is solely about presents. However, it doesn’t necessarily mean being materialistic. Those who love receiving gifts appreciate the thought work that goes with it. If you’re taking time out of your day to think of something your partner will love, no matter how big or small, it makes receiving those gifts extra special. Pick your significant other a flower or purchase a new snack at the store you think they might like. Performing small acts to let others know you’re thinking of them is a sweet way to show love.


Acts of Service

The above mentioned article also states, “Your partner might have this love language if their motto is “Actions speak louder than words.” This love language expresses itself by doing things that you know your spouse would like. Cooking a meal, doing the laundry, and picking up a prescription are all acts of service. They require some thought, time, and effort. All of these things should be done with positivity and with your partner’s ultimate happiness in mind to be considered an expression of love. Actions out of obligation or with a negative tone are something else entirely.”

FamilyThe alt text for this image is the same as the title. In most cases, that means that the alt attribute has been automatically provided from the image file name.

Quality Time

Quality time may feel like a ‘big ask’ for some people. It means giving your significant other your undivided attention. Ideally, this means no TV, no phone, no distractions of any kind. Not to say you cant sit down and enjoy a show together, but quality time people want to know that they are your focus. It helps them feel connected to their partners.


Identifying your love language can lead to a healthier relationship. Figure out how you show love now and make sure it aligns with your partner’s needs.